Nursing Excellence Award

Maine Medical Center’s Nursing Excellence Awards recognize MMC registered nurses and interprofessional teams who demonstrate a commitment to quality performance, professional development and the nursing profession and its issues, participate in professional activities to advance their profession, are role models and teachers for nursing students and new nurses, and collaborate with others in providing evidence-based patient care. Recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by a review committee of nurses.

Awarded annually, our Nursing Research Award, recognizes outstanding nursing clinical scholars whom make a significant contribution to the advancement of nursing science leading to a substantial positive effect on patient or professional outcomes.

2019 Recipients

  • Bonnie Boomsma-Hall, BBCH, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Mary Carol Jarmusz, NICU, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Kathleen Masterson, P3CD, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Emily Sweatt, R3, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Emily Hickey, BBCH, Laura Vogel Humanitarian
  • Callie Chase, PICU, Nurses as Teachers
  • Samantha Walker, BBCH, Nurses as Teachers
  • Darlene Rouleau, R4, Research
  • Gibson Pavilion, Nursing Team
  • Front End Flow (ED), Interprofessional Team

2020 Recipients

  • Meghan Anderson, R2, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Scott Evans, NICU, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Denise Owens, PICU, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Jane Baxter, Urgent Care+, Clinical Nursing Excellence
  • Michelle Burke, ED, Nurses as Teachers
  • Pamela Jordan, ED, Laura Vogel Humanitarian
  • Sabrina Miller, R2, Emerging Bright Star
  • Urgent Care Plus Team, UCP, Interprofessional Team
  • Sherryanne St. Pierre, CNL, Research Award #1
  • Christine Schreiber, CNE, Research Award #1
  • Nicole Manchester, Director, Research Award #1
  • Jessica Howe, Manager, Research Award #1
  • Elizabeth Shaughnessy, Manager, Research Award #1
  • Justin Michaud, Manager, Research Award #1
  • Brooke Brown-Saracino, HR, Research Award #1
  • Susan Hodge, HR, Research Award #1
  • Sonja Orff, CNL, Research Award #2
  • Paul Blakeslee, Dietician, Research Award #2
  • Erin Corica, Pharmacist, Research Award #2
  • John Dziodzio, Research Award #2
  • Kathryn Smith, Pharmacist, Research Award #2
  • Shawn Taylor, Manager, Research Award #2
  • Elizabeth Turner, MD, Research Award #2
Devin Carr, Meaghan Anderson, Sabrina Miller

Devin Carr presents Nursing Excellence Awards to Meaghan Anderson (Clinical Nursing Excellence) and Sabrina Miller (Emerging Bright Star)

DAISY Award Recipients

Awarded monthly to a nurse who demonstrates exceptional caring and compassion. Patients, families, colleagues, and visitors may nominate a nurse. DAISY says, “Thank you!” and recognizes, honors and celebrates why nurses became a nurse – compassionate care and making a difference in patient’s lives.

2019 Recipients

  • Jillian Madden, BSN, RN, GIBSON, January 2019
  • Timothy Higgins, BSN, RN, R1/IMC, January 2019
  • Wanda Ruett, RN, CCRN, SCU4, February 2019
  • Danielle Sneider, BSN, RN, NICU, February 2019
  • Jennifer McNamee, RN, SCU4, March 2019
  • Noel Poirier, BSN, RN, PICU, March 2019
  • Maria Rivet, BSN, RN, R3, April 2019
  • Nancy Thach, RN, SCU2, April 2019
  • Mary Hutchison, BSN, RN, PNC, May 2019
  • Emily Sweatt, RN, R3, May 2019
  • Dan Andreason, RN, R4, June 2019
  • Alec Brydon, BSN, RN, CN3, GIBSON, June 2019
  • Tracey Beedle, RN, BBCH, July 2019
  • Abigail Craffey, RN, LDR, July 2019
  • Lindsay Rosario, RN, SCU3, September 2019
  • Dawn Meadows, RN, R6/B2, September 2019
  • Ashley Thibeault, BSN, RN, GIBSON, October 2019
  • Jared Walker, BSN, RN, GIBSON, October 2019
  • Jennifer Mcnamee, RN, SCU4, November 2019
  • Melinda Walker, RN-COB, SCU4, December 2019
  • Alicia Wilson, RN, LDR, January 2020

2020 Recipients

  • Kathleen McHugh-Bagwell, SCU4, January 2020
  • Allyson Tibbitts, BSN, RN, GIBSON, February 2020
  • Kimberly Bockus, BSN, RN, CPN, BBCH February 2020
  • Tayla Robbins-Thornton, RN, SCU, April 2020
  • Danielle Conant, RN, R3, April 2020
  • Jessica Sobey, RN, LDR, May 2020
  • Breanna (Manson) Henry, BSN, RN, NICU, May 2020
  • Marina Longstreth, RN, ED, June 2020
  • Caren Priest, BSN, RN, BIRTH CTR, July 2020
  • Lindsey Youngman, BSN, RN, BIRTH CTR, July 2020
  • Briana Chute, RN, PRENATAL, July 2020
  • Alicia Wilson, RN, BIRTH CTR, July 2020
  • Nicholas Clark, RN, P2C, October 2020
  • Jayme Rec, RN, GIBSON, October 2020

PETAL Award Recipients

The PETAL Award recognizes, rewards, and celebrates the special skills and compassionate care provided by our nursing support staff. The PETAL Award recipient demonstrates patient advocacy, leadership, teamwork, and makes a difference in a patient and/or family’s life. Nominations are accepted throughout the year and one nursing support staff is recognized each month.

2019 Recipients

  • Michelle Miles-Pruitt, PCT, CNA, R2, January 2019
  • Theresa Ouellette, NUS, P3CD, February 2019
  • Dustin Shader, CNA2, P2C, March 2019
  • Rye Ma, Interpreter Interpreter Services, April 2019
  • McKenzie Meserve, CNA, R5, May 2019
  • Tammy Turgeon, CNA, R4, June 2019

2020 Recipients

  • Ruth Driscoll, CNA, SCU3, January 2020
  • Serena Meyer, CNA2, R6, August 2020

Clinical Nurse Advances


  • Eise Amico, BSN, RN, CEN, CNIII (ED)
  • Meaghan Anderson, BSN, RN, CNIII (R2)
  • Nicole Barnes, BSN, RNC, CNIII (Birth Center)
  • Kathleen Bermingham, BSN, RN, CEN, CNIV (ED)
  • Alec Brydon, BSN, RN, CMSRN, CNIII (Gibson)
  • Julianna Choi, BSN, RN, CMSRN, CNIV (SSC-ASU)
  • Judith Cressey, BSN, Med, RN, CEN, CCRN, CNIV (SCU)
  • Nancy Exchange, BSN, RN, SANE, CEN, CNIII (ED)
  • Dorice Groshon, BSN, RN, CPN, CNIII (BBCH)
  • Emily Hickey, BSN, RN, CPN, CNIII (BBCH)
  • Amy Lee, MSN, BSN, RN, CNIII (R5)
  • Christina Lusth-Webb, BSN, RN, CNIII (Family Center)
  • Karen Norton, BSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM, CNIV (Birth Center)
  • Dana Parise, BSN, RN, CNOR, RNFA, CNIII (SSC-OR)
  • Zachary Priest, BSN, RN, CPN, CNIII (BBCH)
  • Cynthia Rathbone, BSN, RN, CEN, CNIII (ED)
  • Rachel Redlon, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, CNIII (ED)
  • Elizabeth Snow, BSN, RNC, CNIV (Birth Center)
  • Brian Vail, BSN, RN, CNIII (ED)
  • Elizabeth Westburg, BS, RN, CMSRN, CNIII (Dialysis)


  • Sarah E. Booth, BSN, RN, CNOR, CNIII (OR)
  • Victoria K. Burkhart, BSN, RN, CNOR, CNIII (Birth Ctr)
  • Michael S. Defrancisco, BSN, RN, CCRN, CNIII (CTICU)
  • Heather A. Docherty, BSN, MS, BA, RN, CMSRN, CNIII (R3)
  • Anne-Marie P. Gray, BSN, RN, CCRN, CNIII (SCU)
  • Alexandra J. Ham, BSN, RN, CNOR, CNIII (SSC)
  • Mary Carol Jarmusz, BSN, MS.Ed, RNC-NIC, CLC, CNIII (NICU)
  • Stacey E. Libby, BSN, RN, CMSRN, CNIII
  • Kimberly C. Qirushi, BSN, RN, CPN, CNIII (Radiology)
  • Nicole Radmore, BSN, RN, CMSRN, CNIII (Float Pool)
  • Melisa F. Sargent, BSN, RN, CEN, CNIII (ED)
  • Elaine M. Zappala, BSN, RN, CCRN, CSC, CNIII (SCU)